Explaining ISIS/ISIL – a roundup of things to read

Progressive Geographies

Between the lead-up to the US-led invasion of Iraq in 2003 and around 2008, I read extensively on what was happening in the country. I wrote several articles and chapters on the territorial, legal and constitutional issues, many of which were re-edited to form parts of my 2009 book Terror and Territory: The Spatial Extent of Sovereignty. (Most of the articles are available open access here.)

Due to other projects, I’ve only kept a partial eye on things since that time, with most of my reading coming from news-sites, good blogs (Juan Cole’s Informed Comment in particular), and some of the academic literature. (For one exception, see this 2010 analysis of a then-newly available document.) But I’ve not been reading in the same way I was before I finished the ‘war on terror’ book manuscript. Other contemporary topics – such as Boko Haram – have taken up more of…

View original post 415 more words

Comments Are Closed

